PRN: New Members to be Inducted into Made in USA Hall of Fame

New Members to be Inducted into Made in USA Hall of Fame

SANTA MONICA, Calif., July 3, 2012 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ — The Made in the USA Foundation announced 20 winners from 60 nominees to the Made in the USA Hall of Fame. The Foundation held Made in the USA Hall of Fame Awards dinner Monday, July 2, 2012 at the Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel in Santa Monica, California and gave out the awards.

Joel D. Joseph, Chairman of the Foundation, said, “The Hall of Fame Awards was established two years ago to celebrate the best that America produces. I have heard many times that ‘nothing is made here.’ The Hall of Fame showcases exceptional U.S. manufacturers and demonstrates that many high-quality products are made in the United States. The U.S. is still the leading manufacturing nation in the world.

Three judges were assigned to each category. Points were given for three criteria: Quality Competitiveness and Impact. Quality comparisons included use of Consumer Reports, the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award (awarded by the National Institute of Standards and Technology), and other evaluating entities. Competitiveness included the company’s comparisons with imports and its ability to export. Last year, Boeing was named to the Made in the USA Hall of Fame because of its exceptional competitiveness in the world marketplace. Impact includes whether the company developed new breakthroughs in technology, a new product category or has exceptional designs.

About the Made in the USA Foundation

The Made in the USA Foundation is a non-profit organization established in 1989 through matching grants from the United Auto Works and Ford Motor Company. The Foundation is dedicated to promoting products made in the United States, developing legislation supporting U.S. businesses and industry, and pursuing litigation against those misusing the “Made in the USA” label. The Foundation championed the Country of Origin Labeling Act for food and the American Automobile Labeling Act. Both were passed into law.

2012 Hall of Fame Winners:

Herman Miller Office Furniture
Channel Islands Surfboards
Chevy Volt Electric Auto
Zero Motorcycles Electric Motorcycle
Viking Gas Ranges/Cooktops
Armstrong Hand Tools
Tito’s Vodka Vodka
McIntosh Amplifiers Stereo Equipment
Beaulieu Vineyard Wine
California Olive Ranch Olive Oil
Solar World Solar Panels
Google Software
Worksman Bicycles Bicycles
Kala Eyewear Eyeglasses
Dodge Dart Economy Cars
Boyd Lighting Lighting
Zometool Toys
Marin French Cheese Co. Cheese
Master Lock Welcome Back
Letarte Swimwear Swimwear

Solar World


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: